Before Derrick Brown took to the One Night Wonders stage back in May, the night was opened by Anthony O’Sullivan and Jessica Alice, whose sets will be made available progressively over coming weeks.

No Surprises is a classic O’Sullivan piece: a desire for stability that also undermines itself, an edge of acerbic humour and the fleeting pull of apocalyptic vision. It comes from his OK Computer series, where he wrote an unedited poem for each track of the famous 1997 album to mark its tenth anniversary.

Anthony is a Melbourne performer of various stripes, raised on the Mornington Peninsula. He co-hosted the long-running southside poetry night The Spinning Room, and now runs Comedy Corner at Happy Palace.

Anthony O’Sullivan
1. Airbag
2. No Surprises
3. Ships and Birds
4. Poem for the Anthem for a Generation

Jessica Alice
1. The Insidious Threat to Australia’s Youth
2. I’ve Been Wondering About How Dinosaurs Had Sex
3. When the Bed Is Burning
4. Bliss Breathing

Project supported by: City of Melbourne.